DIY 1800 PCB

Quartz64

19 Mar 2019, 13:42

TL;DR: KiCAD newbie tries to make his first PCB (1800 ANSI layout).

Hello guys. I need some opinions about my (possibly stupid) PCB design for Cherry 1800 keyboard.

Backstory
I'm relatively new to this hobby. My experience so far includes: restoring about dozen of Model Ms (bolt mod, patching membranes, etc.), making a replacement controller for M 122 ('blue pill' STM32 board, TMK), conversion of Magnavox Videowriter, ANSI mod for Model F AT, two handwired boards. I don't have any experience with PCB design (used to draw them by hand in early-mid 1990s when I was a teenager, but that doesn't count) and I'm not an expert in MX-compatible keyboards in general (stabilizers, non-standard layouts, etc.)

Cherry G80-1800
About a month ago I've ordered three Cherry G80-1800 boards from German eBay. They are incredibly cheap (about 5.5€, even with shipping it was about 11€ per board). What you can expect for this price?
  • ISO-DE layout with stepped CapsLock, 1U bottom row and exotic 6U spacebar
  • Thin lasered PBT keycaps
  • Very flimsy PCB without diodes
  • Cherry MX Black switches. They are definitely not as smooth as vintage or retooled Blacks
  • Yellowed case
  • No plate
Here is the album.

But it's way cheaper than crappiest of Chinese mechanical keyboards and I just like the compact 1800 layout.

I've bought these boards for two reasons: I can just give two of them to my colleagues after cleaning and converting them to USB, and I am going to use the third as guinea pig for practicing PCB and plate design. I'm going to buy more of them in case of success.

Design goals
The primary goals of modding this kind of keyboard are:
  • Reasonable price. I don't think that anybody is going to spend $100 on PCB and plate for $5 keyboard. So there will be no RGB backlight, in-switch LEDs and no plate.